Smaller engine Emission DHLA40s  - Jetting

Redroller

This be my first post, and i hope i'm not too much of a pain...

My current project, which in its current state has been on and off for a year, is a 1983 mk1 Golf with a 1272cc hydraulic lifter engine. I couldn't afford a gti at the time, and being a student i can't afford the insurance.

I was offered at the beginning of this year a pair of DHLA40-N emission carbs, plus the manifold, pump, regulator and air filters for a sum of £300.... They were from another failed project with the same engine size as mine, and no wonder they were jetted suitably for the alfa they came from i believe.

i have taken time to do a lot of reading, not rush things and try to get as much information as i can so i don't end up with the bitter taste of failed sidedraughts! i managed to calculate or deduce a number jet sizes to work with and subsequently rebuilt the carbs with them.

I have also fitted a later fuel injection cam from a 'GT' polo with a slightly long duration, but still keeping a smooth idle.

I have re-curved my distributor to give a more aggressive advance....

i currently have the following jets/chokes etc:

50mm rampipes

.3 venturis

28mm chokes

33 pump jets

60 idle jets - fixed air bleeds

.11 emulsion tubes

128 mains

210 air correctors

I know the 128 mains are on the large size, and was hoping to work down from there. in testing the plugs seem to remain quite black and the performance down. the air correctors are also large, i do have some 180's but i left them out due to the larger main.

I believe near enough spot on with the idles as the length the of the progression phase requires a larger jet to cover this, particularly in a smaller engine?

Not at all sure on the emulsion tubes, eurocarb advised me that the .11 were the only type for those carbs, but after reading a few posts here the fitment of .8 and .10 seem possible?