Sign in to follow this  
Nick Jones

Diff carrier bearings

Calling diff experts.......

I'm not a diff expert but I've have decided it's high time I taught myself how to assemble diffs.  This has been provoked by the recent purchase of a Blackline Torsen LSD carrier.  It's a Quaife copy at roughly half the price and as the Vitesse diff is whining rather loudly.......

So, the donor diff was going to be a late 3.63:1 (thanks Alan!), ex-spit 1500.  This is now dismantled and as I also happened to have a rather earlier Mk2 Vitesse 3.89 in bits (duff scrapyard purchase some years ago - water damage to CW/P) I was working up a set of bearing numbers and noticed that the carrier bearing numbers are different.

The older carrier has 31.76mm spigots for the bearings and the bearing OD is 62mm

The newer carrier has 35mm spigots for the bearings and the bearing OD is just under 60mm.

I then measured the LSD and found that has the older style 31.76 spigots.  This is all a bit unexpected and has the effect of preventing me from using the 3.63 casing - which is irritating as it's clean and the 3.89 one is horrible...... and also, more significantly, by moving the 3.63 pinion into a different casing as I understand it,  what was a fair chance of the spacer under the pinion head bearing still giving the correct pinion height with a new bearing falls away to zero and I'm not sure how to get this to where it needs to be.

On the flip side the older style bearing looks rather chunkier, albeit with 15 rollers rather than 23.... I've not looked up the load ratings yet.

It's also possible that there is another bearing inner/outer combination that allows the smaller spigot centre to go in the later casing.....

Looks like I can interchange the solid spacer from the earlier diff onto the 3.63 pinion and do away with the horrible crush tube thing, which is definitely good news.

Anyone know what the options are (if any) and the pros/cons?